Hey all.

I know I often promise to return in full force, but that hasn’t really been able to happen. Yours truly has been rendered homeless because of a selfish former roommate’s now ex-fiancee. I have taken to living in my car until enough money can be amassed to move into a place of my own within reasonable price range. I have not been completely out of the loop of the gymnastics world, just unable to post and compound my thoughts enough to create worth-while postings and thoughts and the like.

Moving forward:

The 2011 edition of the CoverGirl Classic, the final qualifying competition for the United States National Championships took place over the weekend.

I was disappointed in the small number of true All-Around gymnasts. There should have been way more than were present.

I was THRILLED, though, with the comeback of Shawn Johnson and Chellsie Memmel. Shawn looked nervous, but in good shape. Her mistakes were obvious, but having been out for three years and back into her very first meet since the 2008 Olympics, she looks good. I am very much impressed with her new-found ability to actually dance on the Floor Exercise. Her run-through routine looked great!

Chellsie Memmel is still amazing. Solid, strong, consistent. When she has her Yurchenko Double Twist, her Double Layout and her full-difficulty bar set back, she will be awesome. She may even contend for the national title with the likes of Jordan Wieber and Aly Raisman. Her new floor routine is the best I’ve ever seen from her. I can’t wait to see what comes of it all.

Alicia Sacramone continues to be my favorite American gymnast. Her new Floor Exercise routine makes me shiver and shudder with excitement. I am in love with the music, the attitude, the dance, the confidence. Can I just give her the world gold medal for floor right now?

The rest of the field looked pretty good, too. Jordyn Wieber is going to be a force to reckon with. Amazing difficulty, strong technique, great form, and intense focus will do her very well as a senior.

Sabrina Vega should give a clinic on how to perform on Floor. She actually dances. Real dance. Skilled dance. Her tumbling isn’t too shabby either.

I can’t wait for nationals. Just a few short weeks away!

I will do my best to post if and when I can.

Thanks, everyone!

